The official Diehard Dungeon blog

Diehard Dungeon for XBLIG

Unfortunately, the XBLIG version of Diehard Dungeon will no longer be updated. Due, in most part, to the way that I have been treated by Microsoft regarding payments, I have made the tough decision to not renew my XBLIG developer subscription. The game is simply not making anywhere near enough money there for it to be worthwhile, and threatening Microsoft with legal action is not something I ever thought I would be doing.

To those of you waiting patiently for v1.3 to appear on XBLIG, I apologise.

I’ve made a lot of friends, from fellow developers and dedicated fans of my games during the last few years of developing games for the Xbox 360. I would like to thank each and every one you for your support.

7 responses

  1. Damn, so I should have used that last indie bundle with DhD. Anyway, sad to see another developer turning his back on Microsoft – which happened a lot in the last months. “Gratulations”, MS…

    From a dev perspective I can understand it. MS seems to give a crap about small developers now and the pricing on XBLIGs is as suicidal as in the mobile sector. I see it on myself: 80 MSP is with cheap bought point cards around 80 Cent and now I see a price of 4€ on the PC for the same game… Usually too much for an impulse buy.

    May 3, 2013 at 2:33 pm

    • Yeah, Microsoft seem to be going out of their way ruin their reputation with indies. My payment problems with them is only the tip of the iceberg! At some point, I will write up the full series of it-would-be-funny-if-it-wasn’t-true events.

      Thankfully, in the case of DD, the PC version contains a lot more content, and will continue to receive a lot more content to justify the higher price, but I completely agree that the pricing structure for XBLIGs is completely ridiculous, and only in place to create a clear divide between XBLIGs and Live Arcade games.

      The XBLIG version has been selling for 240 Points for a couple of weeks, so I’ll see if it makes any noticeable difference to sales numbers. If sales drops drastically then I will have to drop back to 80 Points 😦

      May 3, 2013 at 5:11 pm

      • Okay, I used the -30% offer and bought it on Desura, too. I’ll check it out more with the 1.3 or 1.4 update (I just died very soon right now πŸ™‚ ).

        I guess in the mobile sector, you can usually make some money with lowest priced games because the potential buyers are far more. But on XBLIG they are obviously too few, although 80 MSP is for me a “no brainer” purchase (if the games looks/plays at least interesting – there is so much crap…).

        I never understood why there is not another price step betwenn 80 and 240 MSP! At 240 MSP my expectations of a game are much, much higher (and probably too high). I won’t buy “throw away” games for that price. And please don’t understand it in a wrong way: A roguelike is for me more or less such a game, regardless the actual quality.

        The genre of games is a problem, too: I guess the most low price games on mobile plattforms are simple games which you can play very often and for a short span of time. On a console, that’s not really the case. So I unconsciously expect more of a game, even for 80 MSP.

        A trend to balance work and revenue at least a bit were the announcement that a game will be upgraded with new content after enough ales (you did it, too). Besides that I usually buy all 80 MSP games I quite like, an undecided customer could think “I don’t get the full game” and won’t buy. A vicious circle.

        Anway, that is all the past for you (although I would like to read some kind of “XBLIG post mortem”). What are your future plans for game development?

        May 3, 2013 at 5:52 pm

  2. Sorry for taking so long to reply.

    Thanks for buying the game from Desura, it’s really appreciated!

    You’ve hit the nail on the head when it comes to pricing! The price points for xbox indie games makes no sense whatsoever! I think It should be in increments of 100 (100, 200, 400, 800 etc), because that’s how the points are purchased.

    As for the future of Tricktale, I’d like to port Diehard Dungeon to other platforms using MonoGame. After that, it will be onto Diehard Dungeon 2 (with a vengeance? Ha!)
    I’ve got many, many ideas that couldn’t be included in Diehard Dungeon, mostly for technical reasons, that I would like to include in the sequel.

    May 7, 2013 at 5:08 pm

    • Wayne

      So disappointed! Was so looking foreward to more updates. This turned out to be one of my favorite xbox indie games…

      May 7, 2013 at 5:54 pm

      • OwO

        same here! i just bought it today and i couldn’t stop playing it. especially once i figured out the mechanics with the chest. i’m kinda upset that i found this just after support is being dropped cause it’s a great game and a bit more depth could make it a FANTASTIC game on par with the likes of the XBLA games. Please reconsider at least one more patch haha. On a side note, i don’t find the 240 ms points to be too big. They do give the option for a 10 minute-ish trial and out of a pool of 6 or so XBLIGs today, this and Wizorb made me feel like the demo was too short for me to get a good taste of everything I wanted to see; in actuality it stuck with me the strongest over demos like Penny Arcade 3 and Bleed. In short, great work. Might have to snag a PC copy if you really do end up halting support for the 360 version.

        May 9, 2013 at 7:13 am

      • Thanks for the kind comments. I really wish the situation was different, but unfortunately dealing with Microsoft has been a complete nightmare that I want to distance myself from.
        HomiSite, Wayne and OwO – if you’d like, I would be more than happy to send you beta invites to the latest PC release, as I’m looking for a few more testers for the new content I’ve added πŸ™‚ If you are interested, send an email to tricktale@live.co.uk

        May 10, 2013 at 5:45 pm

Leave a Reply

